

A meeting of Laois and Offaly Education and Training Board was held on Tuesday 22 October 2024 at Portlaoise College, Mountrath Road, Portlaoise.

#### **Present**

Cllr Catherine Fitzgerald (Deputy Chairperson)

Cllr John King Cllr Tommy Mulligan Mr Clive Davis Cllr Claire Murray

Cllr Catherine Fitzgerald Cllr Caroline Dwane Stanley

Cllr Vivienne Phelan Cllr Hugh Egan

Ms Valerie O Connell Ms Serena Fitzpatrick
Cllr Eddie Fitzpatrick Mr William Flanagan
Mr Gareth Stanley Ms Myra Kennedy

#### In Attendance

Pam Nolan, Director of OSD Frank Walsh, Head of Corporate Services Des Murphy, ETBI Nicole Doyle, Corporate Services

### 1. Welcome and Apologies

The Deputy Chairperson, Catherine Fitzgerald welcomed all members.

Apologies received from Ollie Clooney, Claire Murray Smale, Neil Feighery, Jim Cashen, Seamus Bennett, and Tara Carty.

### 2. Minutes of LOETB Board meeting

The minutes of the previous meeting, which took place on 24 September 2024, were circulated to members. Members approved the minutes, and they were signed by the Chairperson.

**Proposed:** Caroline Dwane Stanley

Seconded: John King

### 3. Matters arising from the Minutes

There were no matters arising from the minutes.

### 4. Wayleave Agreement – ESB Substation at Coláiste Naomh Cormac

The Deputy Chairperson informed members that a Wayleave agreement is required for an ESB Substation at Coláiste Naomh Cormac.

**Proposed:** Hugh Egan

Seconded: Valerie O'Connell

### 5. Nominations to Boards of Management

### Nomination of ETB representatives to Boards of Management

The Deputy Chairperson sought a nomination to the Board of Management at Portlaoise College. This nomination is to replace Gareth Stanley as nominated in the last Board meeting on 24 September. Pam Nolan explained that a parent representative on the Board cannot be a Board of Management member.

The Board also put forward a LOETB nomination to the Board of Management at Coláiste Naomh Cormac.

A discussion took place on the importance of attending all Board of Management meetings and members were advised to only consider membership of a Boards of Management if they can commit to attending all scheduled meetings.

The following Board member was appointed:

School	Nomination	Proposed	Seconded
Portlaoise College	Caroline Dwane Stanley	Serena Fitzpatrick	Vivienne Phelan
Coláiste Naomh Cormac, Kilcormac	Mary Cotter Bracken	Catherine Fitzgerald	Caroline Dwane Stanley

## Nomination of Community representatives to Boards of Management

The Deputy Chairperson informed members of the following Community representative nominations for Schools Board of Management:

School	Nomination	Proposed	Seconded
Dunamase College	Liam O'Neill	Caroline Dwane Stanley	John King

	Dave Cullen	Caroline Dwane Stanley	John King
Oaklands Community College	Anne Kilraine	Eddie Fitzpatrick	Claire Murray
Portlaoise College	Damien Bowe	Serena Fitzpatrick	Caroline Dwane Stanely
	Bernadette Ryan	Serena Fitzpatrick	Caroline Dwane Stanely
	Gerard Mulhall	Serena Fitzpatrick	Caroline Dwane Stanely
Tullamore College	Molly Buckley	Eddie Fitzpatrick	Vivienne Phelan
	Sheila Maloney	Eddie Fitzpatrick	Vivienne Phelan

## Nomination of An Foras Pátrúnachta and La Sancta Union representatives

The Deputy Chairperson informed members of nominations from An Foras Pátrúnachta for Dunamase College and La Sancta Union for Banagher College as follows:

School	Nomination	Proposed	Seconded
Banagher College	Sr Goretti	Hugh Egan	Gareth Stanley
<b>Dunamase College</b>	Dominic Ó Braonáin	Caroline Dwane Stanley	Catherine Fitzgerald
	Chris Hickson	Caroline Dwane Stanley	Catherine Fitzgerald

# Nomination of Parent representatives to Boards of Management

School	Nomination	Proposed	Seconded
Ard Scoil Chiaráin	Male: Justin Burke	Valerie O'Connell	Eddie Fitzpatrick
Naofa, Clara	Female: Adrina		
	Moran		

#### 6. Nominations to the Youth Work Committee

Nominations were received from the following organisations:

Organisation	Nomination	Proposed	Seconded
Laois County Council	Susanne O Connor	Eddie Fitzpatrick	Vivienne Phelan
Laois Comhairle na nÓg	Sara Lawlor	Serena Fitzpatrick	Gareth Stanley
Youth Work Ireland Midlands	Geraldine Lacey	Clive Davis	Serena Fitzpatrick

### 7. Governance Training

Aidan Horan from the Institute of Public Administration provided governance training on behalf of the Dept. of Education to members on the role of the Board and its members. Mr Horan advised that a further two sessions will be provided online in due course.

Members thanked Mr Horan for his time and comprehensive presentation.

#### 8. AOB

There were no items raised.

### 9. Date and Venue of Next Meeting

The next meeting is scheduled to take place on 26 November at 4:30pm at the Midland Skills Centre, Axis Business Park, Tullamore.

Signed: Neil Feighery (Dec 2, 2024 12:00 GMT)

Date: Dec 2, 2024

Chairperson